Cabo Verde
The Islands
The entire archipelago includes 10 larger islands, of which 9 are inhibited, and 5 smaller islands that are uninhibited. Based on the north-eastern trade winds, the islands are subdivided into "barlavento" – islands above the wind – and "sotavento" – islands under the wind.

The barlavento islands include: Sal, Santo Antão, São Vicente, São Nicolau and Boavista (inhabited) as well as Santa Luzia, Branco and Raso (uninhabited).

The sotavento islands include: Maio, Santiago, Brava and Fogo (inhabited). Seen geographically, the Cape Verde Islands area part of the African continent.

Together with the Azores, Madeira and the Canary Islands they build a collective known as Macaronesia, which means "Fortunate Islands".
Sal Boa Vista Maio
Santiago Fogo Brava
São Nicolau São Vincente Santo Antão
The islands
History and facts
Politics and societal life
People and mentality
Art and culture